03 Jun 2017

Ballindaggin boys better Rosslare to complete the double

0 Comment

Ballindaggin 1-11 Rosslare 2-4

An exhibition of power, pace and skill saw Ballindaggin beat Rosslare in this year’s Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League Roinn C hurling final. Ballindaggin took to the field in St. Patrick’s Park hoping to emulate their girls’ title win earlier in the evening. Rosslare, arriving to the final after a fantastic Wexford District win a fortnight ago, fought bravely to the end but could not break the Ballindaggin boys spirit over the hour.

The game began in a frenzy as both teams created many chances in the opening exchanges. Early on in play, Ballindaggin’s David Nolan was required to make a good save from a Con Mernagh shot. Rosslare captain Tadhg Hayes got the game’s first point just before Ballindaggin’s James Lawless soloed down the sideline and scored a Larry O’Gorman-esque point from under the stand. Kian Murphy then rose to the fore with two good points to put his team ahead.

Rosslare would only score once more in the half, a Tadhg Brohan free, as Murphy and his Ballindaggin teammates took over. Three more driving scores from Murphy put Ballindaggin well in control and some expert defending from Padraig Waters and Danny Fitzhenry gave Rosslare no chance at the other end. Just before the halftime mark, Murphy and Lawless struck again. Lawless scored another good point from out on the wing and Murphy nabbed a fortunate goal when his long shot went all the way to the back of the net.

Now chasing the game, Rosslare had to up the ante in the second half. Tadhg Brohan put over another free and this kicked off an intense period of pressure for the South Wexford boys. Chances came through Dan Kelly, Tadhg Hayes and Kyle Clarke but the astute goalkeeping of David Nolan continued to frustrate. David O’Rourke finally got one past him in the fifth minute when he was the first to react to a breaking ball. A third Brohan free put just four points between the teams.

Ballindaggin steadied themselves and went on to get some massive game-winning scores in the final quarter. Kian Murphy got two monster points that not only went over the u12 goal, but went well over the senior goal behind too! The industrious Robbie Chapman saw his hard work rewarded with a point also. At this stage, the twin towers of Kian Murphy and Josh Doyle ran the show in midfield.

By the time Rosslare got a goal back through Tadhg Brohan, it was too late. Ballindaggin ran out as well deserved winners and completed an impressive hurling-camogie double on the night. No doubt the official Martin Fitzhenry DVD commentary of the match will sell out over the next few days as they celebrate.

Ballindaggin: David Nolan, James Aylward, Padraig Waters, Ciarán Murphy, Danny Fitzhenry, Noel Cowman, James Lawless, Kian Murphy, Josh Doyle, Robbie Chapman, Dylan Purcell, Michael Murphy, Ryan Purcell, Seán Hyland, Liam Redmond, Brian Roban, Blaise Kearney, Tomás Murphy, Cillian Hanrahan, James McHugh, Brian Murphy, James Murphy, Jason Sheridan, Seán Redmond, Killian Walsh, Mikey Quigley, Ray Barnes, Tom Cloney, John Kavanagh, Cathel O’Neill Power, Jacque Neville

Rosslare: William Lin, Darragh Hayes, Danny Howlin, Ciarán Woodcock, Shane Fortune, Conor Murphy, Tadhg Brohan, Dan Kelly, Tadhg Hayes, Con Mernagh, David O’Rourke, Eoin Martin, Kyle Clarke, Eoghan Byrne, Sam Hoffheinz, Ciarán Byrne, Cian Barry, Dean Goldsmith, Robbie Byrne, Josh Duggen, Daire Burke, Conor Murphy, Rob Stirling, Rowen Wickham, Diarmuid Roche, Eoin Murphy, Eoin Kenny, Rory Donoghue, Adam Murphy, Charlie O’Hagan, Tiernan Peare, Daniel Mulvihill, Shay Ryan