16 Apr 2015

Ballymurn claim first title in style

0 Comment

Ballymurn 5-7 Rathangan 3-0

Ballymurn blitzed Rathangan with four second half goals to win their first Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League MiniSevens Boys’ Football title in St. Patrick’s Park on Wednesday last. Powerful performances across the board saw them finish with a flourish, their high fitness levels and attractive brand of football proving too much for their tough opponents over the half hour.

Ballymurn pointed from the throw in when Brody Murphy won the ball and soloed through. Further quick scores would have followed were it not for a couple of brilliant saves from Conan Philips and a determined defensive performance from Eoin Ryan. Ballymurn had to be content with only two further points from frees before a great combination play between Brody Murphy and Shane Cullen saw them get that vital goal just before half time.

Immaculate defending from Ballymurn’s Josh Waldron, Patrick Redmond and Brody Murphy almost made it  look like a shut out was on the cards and an early second half goal from Brody Murphy and a Sean Walsh point saw their lead grow to 2-4 to 0-0. Then, Rathangan’s Micheal Cullen came along to spoil the party. Two fantastic goals in quick succession put his team right back in the hunt and you could see that Ballymurn were momentarily rattled. Despite scoring another goal and point through forwards Mark White and Shane Cullen, it was Rathangan’s third goal from a blasted Justin Moran free that upped the ante.

Ballymurn used this stark reminder to regain their composure and play the football that they were good at, quick counter-attacking and intelligent long ball into their dangerous forwards. Two good points from Brody Murphy and Mark White and two clinical goals from Brody Murphy and Sean Walsh were enough to win comfortably in the end. As the final goals went in, one felt for Rathangan goalkeeper Conan Philips who really had a terrific game in goal for his team. Ballymurn were not to be denied however and deservedly earned the right to accept the cup after playing stellar football throughout the competition.

Ballymurn: Tadhg English, Josh Waldron, Patrick Redmond, Brody Murphy, Sean Walsh, Mark White, Shane Cullen, Adam O’Brien, Nick Scallan, Liam Finan, Micheal O’Connor

Rathangan: Conan Philips, Eoin Ryan, Eoin Staples, Justin Moran, Rory O’Brien, Liam Schokman, Darren Moore, Ryan Finnegan, Adam Rossiter, Brad Walsh, Rory Byrne, Jack O’Brien, Liam Whelan, Michael Cullen, Cathal Murphy, Finn Ryan, Andrew Moran, Liam Berry