16 Apr 2015

Horeswood girls reign supreme

0 Comment

Horeswood 1-6 Kiltealy 0-2

Clever defending and great team play were the difference in this year’s Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League MiniSevens Girls’ football final. Horeswood’s overall performance saw them edge Kiltealy in a game that was a nervy affair from start to finish.

Horeswood had most of the first half chances and did enough to build up a steady lead. Two early scores from Eadaoin Kent and a pair of Katie Kehoe long range frees put four points on the board. Kiltealy did not enjoy such joy despite some good chances. Netminder Emer Hunt showed great composure in goal to deny Kiltealy twice in the early exchanges.

Kiltealy began the second half brightly with a pointed Katie Bates free. Horeswood however continued to create more chances with superb ball being played out from the back. Another point each from Eadaoin Kent and Katie Kehoe gave them some breathing space. Kiltealy continued to push though and could have opened the game up when Katie Bates put Shauna Kavanagh through on goal only to see another good save deny their efforts. Katie Bates pointed a free to keep the teams close but Horeswood had the final say when Katie Kehoe capped off a player-of-the-match performance with a wonderful goal on the break.

Horeswood: Emer Hunt, Jade Cleere, Hannah Chapman, Eadaoin Kent, Katie Kehoe, Amy Cummins, Amy Ennis, Leah O’Connell, Caithlin Barron, Roisin Finnegan, Ciara Walsh, Sarah Cummins, Sarah Foley, Annie-Rose Lyng, Mai Dempsey

Kiltealy: Aoife O’Leary, Katie Breen, Abigail Cullen, Kerri Doyle, Breda Cushen, Katie Bates, Shauna Kavanagh, Aoife Pender, Katie Smith, Faith Holmes