10 May 2016

Horeswood snatch victory from the jaws of defeat

0 Comment

Horeswood 3-3 Glynn 3-1

If ever there was a case for good teamwork, never giving up and playing to the final whistle this was it. Both teams in this year’s Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League MiniSeven’s Camogie final displayed all the skills and courage worthy of finalists and this made for a cracking spectacle over the half hour.

Glynn were first off the mark when Sophie Dawson flicked the ball out to Ciara Butler to point over the bar. Horewood enjoyed a bit of luck when a long range Amy Ennis free managed to slip into the net for a goal. Some good work from Emma Lucas helped Glynn reply with a close range Sophie Dawson goal and despite the greasy conditions, good scores continued to flow. It was Horeswood who finished the stronger when they got two more points before halftime to go into the lead. This lead could have been bigger had Elizabeth Walsh not made some smart saves in the Glynn goal.

An early second half Horeswood free looked to have settled some nerves before Glynn exploded into form. Two goals from Ciara Butler saw Glynn charge into the lead and leave Horeswood staring at potential defeat. Then with three minute remaining, Amy Ennis rallied the troops with a rousing score. She broke through several challenges and used the referee’s advantage to take her goal chance superbly and put a point between teams.

There was more drama moments later when Caoimhe Kehoe bravely blocked another Horewood goalbound effort. It would take a special score to break the deadlock and it came in the final moments. Mai Dempsey did well to keep a long ball in play and then kick it into the path of the on rushing Amy Ennis who blasted the ball into the Glynn net and break several hearts while doing so.

Horeswood: Sarah Cummins, Annie-Rose Lyng, Emer Hunt, Amy Ennis, Hannah Chapman, Sarah Foley, Kellie-Anne Condron, Emma O’Connor, Mai Dempsey, Shauna Foley

Glynn: Elizabeth Walsh, Caoimhe Kehoe, Keira Payne, Ciara Butler, Gia Coyne, Sophe Dawson, Emma Lucas, Alannah Wogan, Ella McGuire, Rachel Goff, Sinéad Barron, Sarah Taffe