20 Jun 2014

Kilrush make it two county titles in a row

0 Comment

Report by Aileen Quigley 6th class; Scoil Mochua, Oulart

On the 17/6/14 Rathangan and Kilrush went head to head in the Allianz Cumann na m Bunscol Rackard League Roinn B hurling final in Wexford Park.

Within the first minute of the game Kilrush’s centre forward, Ciaran Regan drove the ball into the back of the net and scored a goal for his team. He quickly followed this with a point. Two minutes in and another goal was scored for Kilrush by the full forward Aaron O’Hara, with help from the wing forward. Rathangan were very unlucky with a 65 that went wide for the centre back Darragh Furlong. Another point was added to Kilrush’s score by Jack Nolan, that left the score 2-2 to no score in favour of Kilrush after 5 minutes. Rathangan’s centre forward, Darragh Furlong scored their first point from a free. Darragh Furlong got another free and scored a point leaving the score 2-2 to 2 points after 8 minutes. Rathangan started to come into the game with good play from their mid-fielder Kevin Breen and their corner back Michael Cullen. 20 minutes in and Jack Nolan (Kilrush) scored a point from a close in free after a few misses. Sean Nolan from Kilrush had a chance of a goal but unfortunately he missed and hit the side netting. A goal opportunity arose for Rathangan’s centre forward Gary Sinnott but he missed. Just before half time Rathangan’s centre back, Darragh Furlong scored a point that left the half time score at 2-3 to 3 points still in favour of Kilrush.

Both teams ran back on to the pitch after half time both wanting to win! After just 4 minutes a point was scored by Darragh Nolan for Rathangan. Kilrush followed Rathangan’s point with a point of their own scored by their centre forward, Ciaran Regan. 9 minutes into the second half and Rathangan scored another point from a free. Rathangan’s Darragh Nolan scored another point from another free which brought the score up to 2-4 to 6 points still in favour of Kilrush. Rathangan’s goal keeper, Jack Donovan had two outstanding saves that kept them in the game. With 18 minutes gone in the second half and Darragh Furlong scored another fabulous point which left it a 3 point game! With time almost up Rathangan added another point to their score desperately trying to make a comeback! But Kilrush held out to claim the Roinn B title.

Kilrush: Adam O’Donoghue; Ben O’Donoghue; Ronan Dillon; Paul Doran James Doran; Owen Doran; Stephen Kenny; Jack Nolan; Tomas Kirwan; Sean Nolan; Ciaran Regan; Tom Kinsella; William Kenny; Aaron O’Hara; Colm Fortune; David Power; Jack Moorhead; Eamon Carr; Brendan Clarke; Danny Ascott; Piaras Murphy

Rathangan: Jack Donovan; Michael Cullen; Eoin Ryan; Darren Moore; Liam Schokman; Darragh Furlong; Justin Moran; Cillian Byrne; Kevin Breen; Jake Walsh; Gary Sinnott; Eoin Staples; Rory O’Brien; Jamie Walsh; Luke Kelly; Ryan Finnigan; Jack O’Brien, Rory O’Brien; Liam Whelan; Bradley Walsh.