13 Nov 2015

Magical Monamolin make it another famous first

0 Comment

Monamolin 2-6 Horeswood 0-6

Fresh off the back of last week’s maiden victory in the 15-a-side Roinn A football competition, Monamolin made it another famous first when they won the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League MiniSevens Boys’ football title in Taghmon on Friday last.  Their opposition, a determined Horeswood, made them work very hard for the result but ultimately nothing could have stopped these Alley boys who are riding a wave of success at the moment.

Interestingly, Horewood started the better and looked like a team much more comfortable on the ball. Captain Conor Foley was on red hot form when he scored two well taken points within the opening minutes. Not to be outdone, the Monamolin captain Tomás Whelan scored a nice left footed point in reply. Shamey O’Hagen then levelled the scores with a monster point after he won a high ball and shot from distance. Monamolin were still a bit shaky at the back however and were lucky when Cathal Parker only got a point after he was left unmarked in front of goals.

Monamolin sprang into life when Tomás Whelan split open the Horeswood defence with an inch perfect ball that Cormac Walsh gladly palmed into the net off the bounce. Eoin O’Meara did well to hold onto the ball and win a free which was converted to open up a three point lead. Horeswood responded excellently to rally before a halftime and two Conor Foley frees put a point between the teams. Monamolin could have grabbed another goal just before the break but the final pass of a great team move let them down.

The second half saw the game go up another notch in pace and duly there were chances at either end. Strength in depth proved to be key for Monamolin as they brought on Dylan McEvoy, who was centre back on the Roinn A winning team the previous week, to shore up their defensive effort. This change improved the Alley further as Eoin O’Meara, now playing up front, won another free that was put over and scored a vital goal that put his team ahead by five points. Horewood meanwhile could not seem to get the scores they needed due a combination of missed chances, the composed goalkeeping of Jack Redmond and the solid performance of Alley defenders Edward Harney and Kevin O’Connor. Ewan Russell led his team’s late charge with a point but this was overshadowed by further scores from Eoin O’Meara and Cormac Walsh. Adam Harris had a great goal chance but his effort was smothered by the brave goalkeeping of Jack Redmond.

The final whistle confirmed a hard fought victory for Monamolin and finished a unique double of top table football titles. When the hurling begins in the New Year, it will be worthwhile following their attempt at a remarkable Rackard League Grand Slam.

Monamolin: Jack Redmond, Edward Harney, Kevin O’Connor, Shamey O’Hagen, Eoin O’Meara, Cormac Walsh, Tomás Whelan, Dylan McEvoy, Stephen Furlong, Darragh Prendergast, Bryan Kirwan, Adam Back, Tadhg McKenna

Horeswood: William Foley, James Murphy, Alan Kehoe, Conor Foley, Cathal Parker, Adam Harris, Ewan Russell, Andrew Crosbie, James Dempsey, James Rice, Shane Rowe, Liam Sinnott