16 May 2019

Oulart Retain Top Honours

0 Comment

Oulart 5-10 Castlebridge 2-7

Coast Road rivals Oulart and Castlebridge played off a keenly contested final in this year’s Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League Roinn A Hurling final. Both teams brought great support to a game that featured lots of skill, open play and a tough physicality.

Castlebridge got off to a dream start when they raced into a four point lead. The game wasn’t long on when Joe O’Leary collected a loose ball and buried it into the back of the net. Castlebridge captain Paddy Connors was purring in middfield, constantly feeding his forwards with good ball. Points were then exchanged through frees as both teams warmed to the occasion.

For ten minutes, Oulart proceeded to dominate the game yet failed to convert their chances. Time and time again, the Castlebridge boys worked hard to get in those all important blocks and force Oulart wide. They then countered with a second goal once again through Joe O’Leary just before centre back Jamie Doyle popped over an inspirational long range score. The stop-start nature of the half seemed to be suiting Castlebridge until Oulart exploded into life just before halftime. It began with centre forward Jason Rossiter leading a late charge with a goal and a point, putting just one goal between the teams at half time.

Oulart continued this strong momentum in the second half with a powerful opening eight minute period that saw them put eight points on the board. Full forward J.D. Masterson scored a goal and a point off his trusty left side, wing forward Daniel Gallagher’s hard work was rewarded with a point and Adam Butler ensured Peter Wickham’s speculative shot ended up in the back of the net when he put the Castlebridge goalie under significant pressure. Eoin Mongan was a colossus at centre back when Castlebridge tried to move forward but could only live on scraps.

While the Shelmalier boys would only manage a Luke Corrigan point from play in the second half, Oulart’s forwards ruthlessly closed the game out. Jason Rossiter in particular was in fine form and got some lovely scores down th middle.

Based on the form book and as reigning champions, Oulart were always going to be hard beat but Castlebridge certainly gave them a right rattle to ensure they fully earned their Roinn A title.

Oulart: Rhys Wickham, Dean Cox, Ben Harper, Feidhlim Proctor Laird, Kevin Redmond, Eoin Mongan, Josh Sinnott, Jack Dunne, Oisin Moore, Peter Wickham, Jason Rossiter, Daniel Gallagher, Adam Butler, JD Masterson, Matthew Ryan, Caleb O’Kane, Daniel McRedmond, James Walsh, Mark Redmond, Saul Lotz, Martin Dempsey, Tiernan Troy, Carter Tohill, Donncadh Proctor Laird, Callum O Hanlon, Ryan Codd, Sean Stamp, Sean O’Sullivan, Daniel Dempsey, Killian Murphy

Castlebridge: Danny Scallan, Eoin Murphy, JP Fielding, Rory Hearne, Jack Delaney, Jamie Doyle, Joshua Roche, Paddy Connors, Rian Ormord, Joe O’Leary, Liam Kielty, Josh Kinsella, Johnny Connors, Luke Corrigan, Sean Moran, Darnel Lawlor, Tadhg O’Donnell, VJ Doyle, Nathan Goucher, Jack CAnning, Noah Kehoe, Jack Sinnott, James Dempsey, Andy Connors, AJ Dempsey, Conor Cullen, Sean Denton