24 Jun 2014

Powerful Kennedy Park make history in style

0 Comment

Kennedy Park 7-15 Ramsgrange 2-3

History was made in Wexford Park last Monday Night when Kennedy Park became the first Wexford town school to win an Allianz Rackard League Cumann na mBunscol county title. They did so in style, completely overpowering Ramsgrange in the second half while showing exceptional fielding, movement and skills throughout the game.

The game began at an explosive pace, Kyle Scallan soloed through straight from the throw in and clipped over a point and Ramsgrange replied with a cracker of a goal from a long range Owen Whitty free. Seconds later, Kennedy Park had a goal when Jordan Donovan swept a loose ball into the net. Points from Glen Murphy Butler and Josh Sheil then saw Kennedy park open up an early four point lead.

Ramsgrange remained goal orientated. Owen Whitty tried to repeat his free taking trick but the element of surprise was gone and the shot saved. Rory Lynch lofted in a long free and Whitty was again unlucky as Sean Byrne make a good save from his ground stroke. Meanwhile, Kennedy Park’s lead continued to grow when Kyle Scallan put over a 65 and Cian Kehoe anticipated a breaking ball to perfection and cut through for a goal on the 11th minute mark. Not to be undone, Ramsgrange got another great goal when Keelan Foley showed great vision to set up Owen Whitty for a top corner finish.

An element of fortune saw Cian Kehoe get his second goal when his angled shot lobbed the keeper. Kyle Josh Sheil had similar luck when a ball off the post fell nicely for him to finish just before halftime. This allowed Kennedy Park to go into the dressing room with some breathing space on a scoreboard showing 4-7 to 2-2.

The second half was a frustrating affair for Ramsgrange. Kennedy Park returned to the field unshackled and really went at them from start to finish. Some great defending in the Ramsgrange team from Mark Whitty and Sam Wallace in particular kept Kennedy Park at bay, but indiscipline across the board cost them five points from frees that Glen Murphy Butler gladly accepted. Liam Cassin had a Larry O’Gorman moment when he struck a great point from out on the wing and he did the same moments later from a similar position. This opened up an unassailable sixteen point lead. Cian Kehoe claimed his third goal of the match when he booted into the net from close range on 44 minutes.

The move of the match however came soon after. Some fantastic teamplay up the field, involving six players and any amount of nifty hurl passes, tidy handpasses and skilful flicks, saw Josh Sheil finish to the back of the net. Sheil ensured a row over the match ball with Cian Kehoe when he completed his own personal hatrick with another goal moments later. Josh White-Keating got Ramsgrange’s only score of the second half.

The final whistle brought huge celebrations as the Wexford town boys got the title that their efforts deserved. They were a credit to their teachers, mentors and coaches who clearly had done a lot of work with them over a long period of time. It was a great victory for Wexford hurling in general and it showed the potential of what is possible in our town schools when a good system is put in place. This Roinn C title could only be the beginning for Kennedy Park. The traditional big guns out there should take note as they advance to the top grade next year.

Kennedy Park: Seán Byrne, Shane McGuiness, Eoin Kavanagh, Josh Byrne Kavanagh, Emmet Nolan, Liam Cassin, Kyle Scallan, Glen Murphy Butler, Shane Clancy, Josh Sheil, Eoin Hartigan, Cian Kehoe, Jordan Donovan, Kyle Clancy, Diarmuid Moore, Joshua Kehoe Wright, Jake Fortune, John Hore, Eoin Doyle, Jack Foley, Conor Dobbs, David Kelly, Seán Carthy

Ramsgrange: Alfie Eite, Rory Lynch, Mark Whitty, Daniel Behan, Sam Wallace, Padraig Barron, Tomas Barron, Owen Whitty, Ben McPhillips, Keelan Foley, Daragh McPhillips, Keith Mowatt, Colm Fitzgerald, Ciarán McPhillips, Shane Dunne, Josh White-Keating, James Nolan, Jack Nolan, Joe McPhillips, Jamie Foley, Aidan Shannon, Thomas Kehoe, Jack Nolan, Owen Murphy, Brendan Power