19 Nov 2014

Ruthless Bunclody claim ‘C’ title in style

0 Comment

Buclody 8-9 Crossabeg 1-2

Crossabeg were unfortunate to meet a Bunclody side in top form last Wednesday in this Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League Roinn C Girls Football final. High on confidence after narrowly beating arch rivals Kilrush in the semi-final, the Bunclody girls clearly came out with goals on their minds for this one.

The early exchanges promised a close affair between the teams. Within three minutes, Crossabeg had responded to two early Bunclody points by nabbing a good goal through Ciara Flynn. However this was to be the only time that they led the game and Bunclody responded with a masterclass of football for the remaining 47 minutes. Aoife Mahon punished Crossabeg several times throughout the half with confident free taking that added 1-3 to her halftime tally of 1-4 and two goals from Aoife Kavanagh made the outlook bleak for Crossabeg going into the second half.

The opening minute of the second half proved that all the luck was clearly on Bunclody’s side. Aoife Mahon took a speculative shot from out the field and her powerful shot somehow dipped under the crossbar to give her team a fifteen point lead. Crossabeg replied with a Amy Whelan free but this was to be there only score of the half. The in-form Aoife Kavanagh scored another two goals to finish with an impressive four goal tally and her teammate Caoimhe Jordan also got in on the act with two good goals of her own. The damage could have been worse had Crossabeg goalkeeper Ciara Hennessey not stopped several more Bunclody chances during this second half onslaught. Bunclody simply had many stylish footballers all over the field and made this count over the hour.

Scores from Lisa Kelly and Tracey Furlong concluded a great day at the office for the Bunclody girls who will now look forward to life in the ‘B’ division next year.

Bunclody: Loaise Kearney, Naomi Kavanagh, Orla Bialko, Rebecca Murphy, Yvonne Kelly, Eilis O’Rourke, Aoife Mahon, Lisa Kelly, Caoimhe Jordan, Tracey Furlong, Sorcha O’Rourke, Aoife Kavanagh, Emer Kearney, Rachel Kehoe, Leah Morris, Rebecca O’Neill, Corrie Fitzgerald, Jackie Kehoe, Aoife Murphy, Riona Mahon, Caoimhe Furlong, Ella Keane, Chloe Murphy, Kayleigh Tobin, Rachel Black

Crossabeg: Ciara Hennessy, Mary Moran, Anna Doyle, Ciara Lawler, Lucy Walsh, Kelly Anne Dempsey, Amy Whelan, Leah Scallan, Orla Redmond, Ciara Flynn, Emily Fortune, Molly Lambert, Hannah Byrne, Laura Neville, Chloe Murphy, Aoife Murphy, Matilda Meaney, Ellen O’Gorman, Clodagh Cullen, Molly Davis, Annelies Doyle, Abby Carley, Aisling Murphy, Eimear Halpin, Alana McDonald, Eloise O’Boyle Ferguson