20 Nov 2017

Scoil Naomh Maodhóg boys are Kings of the Castle

0 Comment

Ferns 7-7 Wexford CBS 1-2

The prize for most improved team of the season has to go to the Ferns boys this year after a stunning upturn in form say them power their way to an Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League Roinn B Football title. Having previously struggled to get out of a tough qualifying group, few would have predicted that these boys would go on to win the county title with such ease in the final. Wexford CBS on the other hand had put in some great performances on their way to the final and looked to be favourites. The reality was that Ferns had this victory in the bag by halftime.

From the start Ferns were simply too good all over the field. Their energy levels and aggression were impressive over the course of the whole hour. Captain James Murray in particular was fantastic when he led the charge with a first half salvo of 2-3. Two further first half goals, one being a cool far post finish from Niall Logan and the other being a scrambled close range finish, put Ferns firmly in command. Stephen O’Toole popped up with a nice point to add the cherry on top. Wexford CBS just couldn’t handle Ferns blistering pace and teamplay. Goalkeeper Ryan Hayes and full back Charlie O’Hara were also in no mood to cough up easy scores at the back.

Most teams would drop a gear after halftime but Ferns refused outright to let themselves become comfortable. James Murray twice combined with full forward Lukas Kinsella to engineer further goals. The silky skills of corner forward Matthew Kelly then came into play when he knocked over two neatly finished points. Wexford CBS could only respond with three scores. Shay O’Leary kicked over a 45 and scored a late goal while Noah Whelan also got a point after some good work from Darragh Houghton. When Jerry Sheridan got Ferns’ last goal of the game, the party had already well and truly started, thoroughly deserved after a remarkable performance and end to the season from the Ferns boys.

Ferns: Ryan Hayes, Charlie Murphy, Charlie O’Hara, Greg Davis, Sean Gahan, Stephen O’Toole, Jack Brennan, Jerry Sheridan, James Murray, Cormac Kinsella, Niall Logan, Danny Dreelin, Matthew Kelly, Lukas Kinsella, Thomas Dunne, Brian Kearns, Oran Hayden, Oisín Cronin, Dylan Breen, Jack Burke, Andrew Hennessy, David Orr, William Cavanagh, Gavin O’Sullivan, Patrick Holohan, Freddie Davis, David Redmond

Wexford CBS: Ryan Gavin, Lucas Kehoe, Mark Kavanagh, Philip Malone, John Connors, Darragh Houghton, Jamie Barnes, Shay O’Leary, Christy Joss, Aaron Bergin, Brandon Stafford, Liam Dempsey, Neil Hession, Noah Whelan, Tadhg Duffin, Roarke Furlong, Darragh O’Neill, Shamrath Flynn, Kyle Fanning, Ben Mallon, Kian Roche, Darragh Donnelly, Jack Clare