19 Nov 2014

Second half goals win it for Ramsgrange

0 Comment

Ramsgrange 3-9 Craanford 0-8

After narrowly losing by a point to Kilanerin in the Roinn ‘C’ decider last year, Ramsgrange more than made amends with a confident and controlling performance v Craanford in this year’s Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Rackard League Roinn C Boys Football final.

This was a match of contrasting styles with the physical Ramsgrange team taking on a nippy Craanford team in an open and entertaining game. Early impressions saw the speed and guile of the Craanford boys produce some wonderful team scores that Christopher Montague was glad to finish. Ramsgrange got going with two good scores from Josh White Keating and Colm Fitzgerald. The teams then proceeded to exchange points until Keelan Foley scored an inventive goal with the outside of his boot to open a 1-5 to 0-4 lead. The physicality of the big centre forward coupled with the elusive skill of wing forward Darragh McPhillips seemed to be causing Craanford the most problems until they rallied with a late first half charge.

Three consecutive heroic block downs in front of goal seemed to spur the Gorey District lads into action and before the halftime whistle went they had clawed themselves back into the game with two Joseph Conroy frees and Aidan Kavanagh effort. A late goal chance could have put them ahead but it was not to be.

Craanford’s valiant defending continued early in the second half with more impressive blockdowns and another Joseph Conroy free brought a point between the two sides. Ramsgrange responded admirably by throwing everything at the Craanford defence and their reward came when they executed a short 45 perfectly to set up Ben McPhillips for a goal. With Craanford now on the backfoot, everything that they were good at earlier in the game became very difficult for them. Ramsgrange afforded them no space for their kick outs and this in particular prevented them from getting a foothold in the game. Some shot stopping of the very highest standard by Craanford netminder Dean Wadding Nolan kept the River Bann boys in it.

The final fifteen minutes almost went without a score until Colm Fitzgerald scored an excellent curling effort off the ground to ensure the title was going back to Ramsgrange at the second attempt. The Ramsgrange half back line of Daniel Behan, Sam Wallace and Padraig Barron ensured that the Craanford attack saw no such success.


Ramsgrange: Jack Murray, James Nolan, Mark Whitty, Ciarán McPhillips, Daniel Behan, Sam Wallace, Padraig Barron, Ben McPhillops, Alfie Eite, Tommy Barron, Keelan Foley, Darragh McPhillips, Colm Fitzgerald, Josh White Keating, Jamie Foley, Shane Dunne, Callum Campbell, Joe McPhillips, Peadar O’Connor, Jack Moore, Finn Burke, Mark Bates, Harrison Walters, Dion Donnelly, Sean Bennett, Bobby Nolan, Steven Clarke, Conor Clarke, Jack Nolan, Aidan Shannon, Owen Murphy

Craanford; Dean Wadding Nolan, Brendan Green, Patrick Kavanagh, Ciarán McLoughlin, Ross Bailey, Aodán Whitty, Kevin Hyland, Brendan Tobin, Joseph Conroy, Jack Flemming, Aidan Kavanagh, Christopher Montague, Vinnie Porfini, Maurice Tobin, Sean Bass, James Doyle, Alex McSwiney, Padraig Donoghue, Ciarán Lynch Doyle, Pat Doyle, Wayne Roche, Darragh Montague, Alex Weekes, Ted Kenny